2017-04-01 / The Rock

Tri-M Music Honor Society inducts new members

By Sarah Boone and Jazmin Ibarra

On March 2, 2017, Person High School students were inducted into the Tri-M Music Honor Society.

Skylar Walker, Avery Pierce, Nayhive Gonzalez, Brent Whitt, Sarah Williford, Madison Scott, and Madison Singleton were inducted. The organization is advised by band teacher Jonathan Chesson and chorus teacher Brittany Booth.

The Tri-M Music organization is a new leadership program for students who value music and are interested in becoming music instructors.

Sophomore Skylar Walker said, “Tri M focuses on helping the community through music by setting a good example. We also advocate student leadership. My love for music and my dedication to the band program helped me earn the honor of being inducted.

“If I didn’t have the determination to keep growing and learning as a musician, leader and student, I don’t think I would have reached this goal,” said Walker.

Return to top